ANU EXPERTS ALERT: Long-term impact of our bushfire crisis

We now have more experts available. Please see the updated list. 
The bushfire crisis is having a profound impact across Australia. The Australian National University (ANU) has a wide range of experts available to discuss heatwaves, climate change, bushfires, haze and health.

CLIMATE CHANGE

Professor Mark Howden
Professor 
Climate Change Institute 
M: +61 (0) 429 026 050
E: mark.howden@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Climate change, air quality, bushfires, politics, extreme weather 

Professor Nerilie Abram 
ARC Future Fellow 
Research School of Earth Sciences 
M: +61 (0) 408 557 014
E: nerilie.abram@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Climate change, extreme weather 

Professor Penny Sackett
Honorary Professor 
Climate Change Institute 
M: available on request 
E: penny.sackett@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Climate change, politics, leadership 

Professor Kathryn Bowen 
Associate Professor 
Climate Change Institute 
M: + 61 (0) 407 299053
E: kathrynjbowen@gmail.com
Expertise: Climate change, health and disease prevention, extreme weather 

Professor Will Steffen
Emeritus Professor
Fenner School of Environment & Society
M: + 61 (0) 447 980 495 
E: will.steffen@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Human health impacts of climate change

Dr Clem Davis 
Honorary Lecturer 
Fenner School of Environment & Society 
M: +61 (0) 421 250 733
E: clem.davis@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Bushfires (weather), climate change, extreme weather 

Professor Janette Lindesay 
Emeritus Professor 
Fenner School of Environment & Society 
M: 0439 992 812
E: Janette.Lindesay@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Climate change, extreme weather, bushfire smoke, air quality & weather patterns 

AIR QUALITY

Professor Sotiris Vardoulakis
Professor of Global Environmental Health 
Research School of Population Health
M: +61 (0) 490 711 964
E: sotiris.vardoulakis@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Air quality, global health expert, human health impacts of climate change

POLITICS

Dr Siobhan McDonnell
Lecturer
Crawford School of Public Policy 
M: +61(0) 451 977 457
E: siobhan.mcdonnell@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Politics, Australia’s international reputation/role in climate change negotiations, gender, disaster management 

Professor Frank Jotzo 
Professor; Director, Centre for Climate and Energy Policy 
Crawford School of Public Policy 
M: +61 (0) 400 357 252 
E: frank.jotzo@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Policy responses and politics, economics including bush fire damages and recovery 

Dr Andrew Hughes 
Lecturer 
College of Business & Economics 
M: +61 (0) 413 130 129
E: andrew.hughes@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Politics, social media & fundraising, marketing

Professor Giles Hirst
Professor 
Research School of Management 
M: +61 (0) 403 752 841
E: giles.hirst@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Leadership, politics, role of the PM 

Dr Stephen Dann
Senior Lecturer
Research School of Management 
M: +61 (0) 407 591 470 
E: stephen.dann@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Social media, political marketing

Professor Peter Kanowski 
Professor 
Fenner School of Environment & Society 
M:  +61 (0) 416 249 004
E: peter.kanowski@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Policy, climate change, management 
 

HEALTH AND DISEASE PREVENTION

Dr Arnagretta Hunter 
Staff Specialist, Canberra Hospital 
ANU College of Health & Medicine 
M: +61 (0) 418 419 414
E: arnagretta.hunter@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Health impacts of climate change

Dr Geoff Cary
Associate Professor, Bushfire Science
The Fenner School of Environment & Society
M: +61 2 6125 0059
E: geoffrey.cary@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Human health impacts of climate change

Professor Sharon Friel
Director, Menzies Centre for Health Governance
ANU School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet)
T: +61 (0) 410 356 194
E: Sharon.friel@anu.edu.au
 

WILDLIFE AND ECOLOGY

Mr Ross Crates
Postdoctoral Fellow
The Fenner School of Environment & Society
M: +61 (0) 410 184 867
E: ross.crates@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Human health impacts of climate change

Professor David Lindenmayer
Professor 
Fenner School of Environment & Society 
M: +61 (0) 427 770 593
E: david.lindenmayer@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Bushfires, climate change ecology, wildlife recovery, smoke effects & hazard reduction
Availability: From afternoon of Wednesday 8/01/19 

Professor Cris Brack 
Associate Professor 
Fenner School of Environment & Society 
E: Cris.Brack@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Forest ecology, bushfires, climate change

Dr Matthew Brookhouse
Senior Lecturer 
Fenner School of Environment & Society                                                                                                            M: +61 (0) 407 870 270                                                                                                                                      E: matthew.brookhouse@anu.edu.au                                                                                                                Expertise: Forest ecology & bushfires

Dr Marta Yebra
Senior Lecturer 
Fenner School of Environment & Society                                                                                                        M: +61 (0) 404 354 395
E: marta.yebra@anu.edu.au>
Expertise: bushfires and bushfire prevention, disaster recovery (vegetation), fire management technology

ADF RESPONSE 

Associate Professor David Letts 
Director, Centre for Military and Security Law
M: +61 (0) 418 465 293
E: david.letts@anu.edu.au
Expertise: humanitarian & military law, ADF deployment 

For media assistance, call the ANU media hotline +61 2 6125 7979.

About The Australian National University

ANU is a world-leading university in Australia’s capital city, Canberra. Our location points to our unique history, ties to the Australian Government and special standing as a resource for the Australian people.

Our focus on research as an asset, and an approach to education, ensures our graduates are in demand the world-over for their abilities to understand, and apply vision and creativity to addressing complex contemporary challenges.

The Australian National University
East Road, Acton
2601 Canberra