ANU EXPERTS: 2019 Federal Election

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has called a May 18 federal election.

The Australian National University (ANU) has experts available to speak about the election and the issues expected to be debated.

They can be contacted directly, or through the media hotline on 02 6125 7979.
__________________________________________________________________

ECONOMICS/TAX

Professor John Hewson
Chair, ANU Tax and Transfer Policy Institute
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 0412 261 463
E: john.hewson@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian politics, economics


Professor Warwick McKibbin AO (Available until Friday 19 April)
Director, Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis
Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 02 6125 0301
M: 0419 230 760
E: warwick.mckibbin@anu.edu.au
Expertise: the global economy, fiscal policy, climate change policy, trade policy, global demographic change, Asian economies, energy policy


Professor Robert Breunig
Director, ANU Tax and Transfer Policy Institute
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 02 6125 2148
E: robert.breunig@anu.edu.au
Expertise: tax, labour economics, welfare


Associate Professor Geoff Warren
ANU College of Business and Economics
M: 0411 241 091
E: geoff.warren@anu.edu.au
Expertise: dividend imputation policy, superannuation


SOCIAL MEDIA/CAMPAIGNING

Dr Andrew Hughes
Research School of Management
College of Business and Economics
M: 0413 130 129
E: andrew.hughes@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @marketingandrew
Expertise: political marketing, social media, communications, campaigning


Dr Stephen Dann
ANU College of Business and Economics
T: 02 6125 4516
M: 0407 591 470
E: stephen.dann@anu.edu.au
Expertise: social media, marketing

Professor Michael Platow 
Research School of Pyschology
​T: 02 6125 8457
E: michael.platow@anu.edu.au 
​Expertise: social psychology of leadership and social influence


POLITICS

Emeritus Professor John Warhurst
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 3882
M: 0439 498 283
E: John.Warhurst@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian federal politics


Dr Jill Sheppard
Australian Centre for Applied Social Research Methods
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences
T: 02 6125 7898
M: 0407 052 927
E: jill.sheppard@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @jillesheppard
Expertise: Australian politics and political participation, electoral behavior, social class in Australia


Mr Mark Kenny
Senior Fellow
Australian Studies Institute
T: 02 6125 6766
E: Mark.Kenny@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian politics, public policy


Professor John Uhr
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 3668
E: john.uhr@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian politics, political theory, public leadership; political and governmental ethics, parliament


Professor Patrick Dumont
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 6052
E: patrick.dumont@anu.edu.au
Expertise: political elites, coalition studies, electoral systems


Professor Ian McAllister
Distinguished Professor of Political Science
Director, Australian Electoral Study project (1987-2019)
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 5553
E: Ian.mcallister@anu.edu.au
Expertise: elections, voting and party systems


Dr Katrine Beauregard
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 3605
E: katrine.beauregard@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @katrinebeau
Expertise: women’s representation in politics; political behaviour; political institutions and political participation; political methodology.


Dr Maria Maley
School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0434 079 349
E: maria.maley@anu.edu.au
Expertise: policy and gender/leadership and political staff


Associate Professor Juliet Pietsch (Available after 23 April)
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 8311
E: Juliet.Pietsch@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: race; ethnic politics, political sociology


Dr Marija Taflaga (Available after 23 April)
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 5492
E: marija.taflaga@anu.edu.au 
Twitter: @MarijaTaflaga
Expertise: political parties; oppositions; political elites’ career paths


Associate Professor Fiona Jenkins
School of Philosophy
T: 02 6125 2727
E: Fiona.jenkins@anu.edu.au
Expertise: political theory and political philosophy; gender issues; political legitimacy, multicultural and cross-cultural studies.


Simon Copland
PhD candidate, School of Sociology
T: 02 6125 3154
E: simon.copland@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @SimonCopland
Expertise: social media, the far right, men's rights, LGBTIQ issues, the rise of 'anti-politics'; election campaigns, preference negotiations.


Blair Williams
PhD Candidate
School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0431 067 541
E: blair.williams@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @BlairWilliams26
Expertise: Gender politics, women politicians, sexism in parliament, women's and LGBTQIA+ issues, media coverage.


Harrison Miller
PhD Candidate, School of Politics and International Relations                                 
M: 0402 475 273
E: harrison.miller@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian political history, parliamentary opposition, the Liberal Party of Australia


James Frost
Researcher, Tutor and PhD Candidate
School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0433 260 593
E: James.Frost@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @James_GFrost
Expertise: contemporary Australian Parliamentary party politics; Australian federal budget speeches; Australian political history; political science


Feo Snagovsky
PhD Student, School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0452 511 537
E: feodor.snagovsky@anu.edu.au
Expertise: political behaviour, representation of ethnic minorities, political elites (MPs, ministers, political staff)


POLITICAL HISTORY

Associate Professor Frank Bongiorno
ANU School of History
T: 02 6125 0318
E: frank.bongiorno@anu.edu.au
Expertise: ALP political history, Australian political history


Professor Nicholas Brown
School of History
T: 02 6125 3052
E: Nicholas.brown@anu.edu.au
Expertise: 20th century Australian political history


Dr Chris Wallace (travelling overseas until 28 April)
National Centre for Biography, School of History
T: 02 6125 6851
E: chris.wallace@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @c_s_wallace
Expertise: political biography; political leadership, gender; politics and culture


HEALTH/HEALTH POLICY  


Professor Sharon Friel 
​Director, Menzie Centre for Health Policy 
​T: 02 6125 1518 
​E: sharon.friel@anu.edu.au​
Expertise: health governance and regulation; public policy and health; health inequalities; urbanisation and health; climate change and health

DEFENCE/FOREIGN AFFAIRS

Dr Jacinta Carroll
Director, National Security Policy
ANU National Security College
T: 02 6125 5531
E: jacinta.carroll@anu.edu.au
Expertise: defence policy, national security


Associate Professor Matthew Sussex
ANU National Security College
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
T: 0402 912 461
E: matthew.sussex@anu.edu.au
Expertise: defence policy, election security, Russian security policy


Dr Adam Henschke
ANU National Security College
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
T: 02 6125 5201
E: adam.henschke@anu.edu.au
Expertise: privacy, election security, ethics in technology, national security


LAW/IMMIGRATION

Professor Kim Rubenstein (Available before 10 May)
ANU College of Law
Convenor, ANU Gender Institute
E: kim.rubenstein@anu.edu.au
T: 02 6125 0455
Expertise: Citizenship, nationality, women and constitutional law, public law, intersections between public and international law


Professor Donald R Rothwell
Deputy Dean and Head of School
ANU College of Law
E: donald.rothwell@anu.edu.au
T: 02 6125 8948
M: 0414 546 830
Expertise: international law, use of force, international dispute resolution, international courts and tribunals, international law and Australian law

     
ENERGY/CLIMATE CHANGE

Professor Ken Baldwin (Available after 29 April)
Director, ANU Energy Change Institute
T: 02 6125 4702
M: 0432 987 251
E: kenneth.baldwin@anu.edu.au
Expertise: energy, national science policy


Professor Mark Howden (Available after 26 April)
Director, ANU Climate Change Institute
T:  02 6125 7266
M:  0429 026 050
E:  Mark.howden@anu.edu.au
Expertise: climate change adaptation, climate change mitigation, managing climate variability, science-policy


Associate Professor Frank Jotzo
Director, Centre for Climate Economics and Policy
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 02 6125 4367
M: 0400 357 252
E: frank.jotzo@anu.edu.au
Expertise: climate change economics and policy, energy policy, environment and development, public policy


Dr Paul Burke
Fellow, ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 02 6125 6566
M: 0421 083 933
E: paul.j.burke@anu.edu.au
Expertise: climate change economics and policy, environmental economics, energy policy


Associate Professor Matthew Hole
Research School of Physics and Engineering
T: 02 6125 7606
E: matthew.hole@anu.edu.au
Expertise: sustainable energy, electrical engineering

 

Dr Liz (Elizabeth) Hanna 
National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health
​T: 02 6125 5626
M: 0418 995 504
E: liz.hanna@anu.edu.au 
​Expertise: water shortages in the Murray-Darling Basin, Adani, Great Barrier Reef and impacts upon tourism income, droughts, heat, floods, hospital funding

 

Dr Matthew Stocks
Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering 
T: 02 6125 9876
E:  matthew.stocks@anu.edu.au
Expertise: renewable energy policy, photovaltaic energy, pumped hydro energy storage

 

Professor Andrew Blakers (Available after 30 April)
Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering 
T: 02 6125 5905
E: andrew.Blakers@anu.edu.au
Expertise: sustainable energy, solar cells

 

SOCIAL POLICY 

Dr Liz Allen
Demographer
ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods
T: 0401 358 091
E: liz.allen@anu.edu.au
​Twitter: @DrDemography
Expertise: demography/population studies, social trends


Associate Professor Ben Phillips
Centre for Social Research and Methods
P: 0403 929 395
E: ben.phillips@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @BenPhillips_ANU
Expertise: taxation, welfare and income distribution


Associate Professor Nicholas Biddle
Associate Director, Centre for Social Research and Methods                                 
T: 0466 841 595
E: nicholas.biddle@anu.edu.au
Expertise: economics of Indigenous populations, education economics, patterns of income inequality


INDIGENOUS POLICY 

Professor Tony Dreise
Professor of Indigenous Policy Research
Director of the Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research
T: 02 6125 2053
E: Tony.Dreise@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Indigenous affairs policy, Indigenous education and research, and Indigenous community development


EDUCATION

Professor Bruce Chapman
ANU College of Business and Economics
T: 02 6125 4050
M: 0424 589 728
E: bruce.chapman@anu.edu.au
Expertise: HECS and the economy of education 


FOREIGN AID AND DEVELOPMENT

Professor Stephen Howes
Director, Development Policy Centre
Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 02 6125 7553
M: 0400 167 936
E: stephen.howes@anu.edu.au
Expertise: foreign aid, international development


For media assistance call the ANU media hotline 02 6125 7979

About The Australian National University

ANU is a world-leading university in Australia’s capital city, Canberra. Our location points to our unique history, ties to the Australian Government and special standing as a resource for the Australian people.

Our focus on research as an asset, and an approach to education, ensures our graduates are in demand the world-over for their abilities to understand, and apply vision and creativity to addressing complex contemporary challenges.

The Australian National University
East Road, Acton
2601 Canberra