ANU EXPERTS: 2019 Federal election

This Saturday Australians will hit the voting booths for the 2019 Federal Election.

The Australian National University (ANU) has experts available to speak in the lead up to the vote, on election day and the days after.

They can be contacted directly, or through the media hotline on 02 6125 7979.
__________________________________________________________________

SOCIAL MEDIA/CAMPAIGNING

Dr Andrew Hughes
Research School of Management
College of Business & Economics
M: 0413 130 129
E: andrew.hughes@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @marketingandrew
Expertise: Political marketing, social media, communications, campaigning
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Dr Stephen Dann
ANU College of Business and Economics
T: 02 6125 4516
M: 0407 591 470
E: stephen.dann@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Social media, marketing
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


POLITICS

Emeritus Professor John Warhurst
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 3882
M: 0439 498 283
E: John.Warhurst@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian federal politics
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Dr Jill Sheppard
Australian Centre for Applied Social Research Methods
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences
T: 02 6125 7898
M: 0407 052 927
E: jill.sheppard@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @jillesheppard
Expertise: Australian politics and political participation, electoral behavior, social class in Australia
Availability: Fully booked on election day but otherwise available.


Mr Mark Kenny
Senior Fellow
Australian Studies Institute
E: Mark.Kenny@anu.edu.au
T: 02 6125 6766
Expertise: Australian politics, public policy
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Professor Ian McAllister
Distinguished Professor of Political Science
Director, Australian Electoral Study project (1987-2019)
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 5553
M: 0416 249 552
E: Ian.mcallister@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Elections, voting and party systems
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Dr Katrine Beauregard
School of Politics and International Relations
T: 02 6125 3605
E: katrine.beauregard@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @katrinebeau
Expertise: women’s representation in politics; political behaviour; political institutions and political participation; political methodology.
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Dr Maria Maley
School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0434 079 349
E: maria.maley@anu.edu.au
Expertise: policy and gender/leadership and political staff
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Blair Williams
PhD Candidate
School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0431 067 541
E: blair.williams@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @BlairWilliams26
Expertise: Gender politics, women politicians, sexism in parliament, women's and LGBTQIA+ issues, media coverage.
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Harrison Miller
PhD Candidate
School of Politics and International Relations                                 
M: 0402 475 273
E: harrison.miller@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian political history, parliamentary opposition, the Liberal Party of Australia
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


James Frost
Researcher, tutor and PhD Candidate
School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0433 260 593
E: James.Frost@anu.edu.au
Twitter: @James_GFrost
Expertise: Contemporary Australian Parliamentary party politics; Australian federal budget speeches; Australian political history; political science
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Feo Snagovsky
PhD Student
School of Politics and International Relations
M: 0452 511 537
E: feodor.snagovsky@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Political behaviour, representation of ethnic minorities, political elites (MPs, ministers, political staff)
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


POLITICAL HISTORY

Associate Professor Frank Bongiorno
ANU School of History
T: 02 6125 0318
M: 0437 216 149
E: frank.bongiorno@anu.edu.au
Expertise: ALP political history, Australian political history
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.

 

ECONOMICS/TAX

Professor John Hewson
Chair, ANU Tax and Transfer Policy Institute
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 0412 261 463
E: john.hewson@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Australian politics, economics
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


DEFENCE/FOREIGN AFFAIRS

Dr Jacinta Carroll
Director, National Security Policy
ANU National Security College
T: 02 6125 5531
E: jacinta.carroll@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Defence policy, national security
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Saturday 18 May including election day.


Associate Professor Matthew Sussex
ANU National Security College
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
E: matthew.sussex@anu.edu.au
M: 0402 912 461
Expertise: Election security, defence policy, Russian security policy
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


LAW/IMMIGRATION

Professor Donald R. Rothwell
Deputy Dean and Head of School
ANU College of Law
E: donald.rothwell@anu.edu.au
T: 02 6125 8948
M: 0414 546 830
Expertise: International law, use of force, international dispute resolution, international courts and tribunals, international law and Australian law
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


ENERGY/CLIMATE CHANGE

Professor Ken Baldwin
Director, ANU Energy Change Institute
T: 02 6125 4702
M: 0432 987 251
E: kenneth.baldwin@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Energy, national science policy
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Professor Mark Howden
Director, ANU Climate Change Institute
T:  02 6125 7266
M:  0429 026 050
E:  Mark.howden@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Climate change adaptation, climate change mitigation, managing climate variability, science-policy
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Associate Professor Frank Jotzo
Director, Centre for Climate Economics & Policy
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 02 6125 4367
M: 0400 357 252
E: frank.jotzo@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Climate change economics and policy, energy policy, environment and development, public policy
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Dr Paul Burke
Fellow, ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
T: 02 6125 6566
M: 0421 083 933
E: paul.j.burke@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Climate change economics and policy, environmental economics, energy policy
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Professor Andrew Blakers
ANU Research School of Engineering
T: 02 6125 5905
M: 0417 390 139
E: andrew.blakers@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Solar cells, sustainable energy
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


SOCIAL POLICY 

Dr Liz Allen
Demographer
ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods
T: 0401 358 091
E: liz.allen@anu.edu.au
Expertise: demography/population studies, social trends
Availability: Thursday 16 May to Monday 20 May and after.


Professor Michael Platow
Social psychologist
ANU Research School of Psychology
E: michael.platow@anu.edu.au
T: 02 6125 8457
M: 0432 944 916
Expertise: Education, immigration, social policy, science. Interested in leadership processes involved and aspects of the budget that may be relevant to broader issues of social harmony, prejudice, tolerance.
Availability: Monday 20 May and after.

For media assistance call the ANU media hotline 02 6125 7979.

 

About The Australian National University

ANU is a world-leading university in Australia’s capital city, Canberra. Our location points to our unique history, ties to the Australian Government and special standing as a resource for the Australian people.

Our focus on research as an asset, and an approach to education, ensures our graduates are in demand the world-over for their abilities to understand, and apply vision and creativity to addressing complex contemporary challenges.

The Australian National University
East Road, Acton
2601 Canberra