ANU experts comment on JobKeeper, JobSeeker and Budget update

Following the Government’s recent announcements about changes to the JobKeeper and JobSeeker programs, and in the lead up to this Thursday’s Budget update, The Australian National University has a number of experts who are available to comment.

Dr Liz Allen 
Demography and population studies

‘The demographic assumptions underpinning the federal budget have not been met this financial year, setting the foundation for great and growing fiscal pressures in the short to medium term. The coronavirus crisis is adding even greater burden on individuals, families and the economy, meaning the nation must now look to building resilience within the economy. This resilience must include economic supports for families and low income earners, including accessible childcare and financial stimulus.’

0401 358 091 or liz.allen@anu.edu.au

 

Professor Peter Whiteford 
Social Policy, JobKeeper/JobSeeker

0403 050 371 or peter.whiteford@anu.edu.au

 

Associate Professor Nicholas Biddle 
Population trends and policies, impact of COVID-19 on Australians 

0466 841 595 or nicholas.biddle@anu.edu.au

 

Professor Robert Breunig 
Tax, inequality and economic growth, JobKeeper/JobSeeker, childcare

0434 689 928 or Robert.Breunig@anu.edu.au 

 

Ben Phillips 
Economics and social policy

0403929395 or ben.phillips@anu.edu.au

 

Professor John Hewson 
Economics, finance, government and the financial system

0412 261 463 or john.Hewson@anu.edu.au

 

For media assistance contact the ANU Media team on +61 2 6125 7979 or media@anu.edu.au

About The Australian National University

ANU is a world-leading university in Australia’s capital city, Canberra. Our location points to our unique history, ties to the Australian Government and special standing as a resource for the Australian people.

Our focus on research as an asset, and an approach to education, ensures our graduates are in demand the world-over for their abilities to understand, and apply vision and creativity to addressing complex contemporary challenges.

The Australian National University
East Road, Acton
2601 Canberra