ANU experts: North Korean missile tensions

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 —  

Escalating tensions on the Korean Peninsula and deteriorating relations between North Korea and the United States have raised concerns of nuclear strikes in recent days. 

The Australian National University (ANU) has a number of suitable experts available to speak to media about the current situation and how it may impact Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.

Experts can be contacted directly or through the ANU media office on (02) 6125 7979.
________________________________________________________________

Dr Bates Gill
Professor of Asia-Pacific Strategic Studies
Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs
T: 0481 033 530
E: bates.gill@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Chinese politics, Asia-Pacific security, US-China relations, US role in the Asia-Pacific

Dr Ben Zala
Department of International Relations
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs
T: 0458 756 375
E: benjamin.zala@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Nuclear weapons, great power relations

Professor Rory Medcalf
ANU National Security College
T: 0417 799 278
E: rory.medcalf@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Defence and foreign policy; Asian strategic dynamics; maritime security; nuclear issues.

Professor John Blaxland
Professor of International Security & Intelligence Studies
Head, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs
E: john.blaxland@anu.edu.au
T: 02 6125 0932
Expertise: Security policy, intelligence

Associate Professor Michael Clarke
ANU National Security College 
T: 0437 012 797
E: michael.clarke@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Defence studies, international relations, nuclear proliferation and non-proliferation

Dr Leonid A Petrov
School of Culture, History and Language, 
ANU College of Asia & the Pacific
T: 0403 076 604 
E: leonid.petrov@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Socio-economic history of Korea, North-South Korean conflicts and cooperation, political history of DPRK (North Korea)

Professor Leszek Buszynski
ANU National Security College
T: 0415 341 387
E: Leszekbuszynski@gmail.com
Expertise: Asia Pacific Security, South China Sea, Korean Peninsula, Japan

Associate Professor Matthew Sussex
ANU National Security College
T: 0402 912 461
E: matthew.sussex@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Security policy (available from 7/9/17)

For media assistance, contact Aaron Walker on the ANU media hotline on 02 6125 7979 or 0418 307 213.