Delighted, surprised and honoured: philosopher receives top ANU honours for 2018

The Australian National University (ANU) has honoured its top performers for 2018 at the 2018 Vice-Chancellor’s annual Awards Gala Dinner, naming Emeritus Professor Frank Jackson AO the recipient of the 2018 Peter Baume Award, the highest accolade for ANU staff.

Emeritus Professor Jackson is an influential philosopher who’s highly cited work has been the inspiration for a British documentary and appears as a central theme in David Lodge's novel Thinks.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC said Emeritus Professor Jackson had made an outstanding contribution to his field.

"Professor Jackson is a leader in his field and an amazing role model for the many up and coming researchers at ANU, particularly those in the highly regarded School of Philosophy,” Professor Schmidt said.

"I congratulate Professor Jackson on this well deserved recognition for his outstanding contribution to ANU over more than three decades.”

Emeritus Professor Jackson said it was a great honour to be recognised by the University where he has spent more than 30 years of his career.

“I’m delighted, surprised and honoured,” he said.

“I am enormously appreciative of the support that the philosophers at ANU and the University itself has given me throughout my career,

“The ANU is a great place to be a researcher, I was delighted when I got the job in 1986 and I’m delighted to still be here as an Emeritus Professor in ‘pretend retirement’.”

Professor Jackson said philosophy at ANU was on the rise and encouraged young students thinking about their future studies to explore what philosophy has to offer.

“Philosophy at the ANU has a lot of momentum, there are lots of very high quality graduate students and researchers,” he said.

Emeritus Professor Jackson served as Director of the ANU Research School of Social Sciences from 2004 to 2007, and as Director of the ANU Institute of Advanced Studies from 1998 to 2001. Professor Jackson was appointed as Distinguished Professor at ANU in 2003 and became Emeritus Professor in 2014.

The Peter Baume Award is named after former ANU Chancellor, Professor the Hon. Peter Baume AC.

Other winners at the Gala Dinner held on Monday 19 November were:

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Early Career Academics
Dr Mohsen Rahmani, ANU Research School of Physics & Engineering

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Educational Excellence
Dr Shari Read, ANU Research School of Management

Vice-Chancellor’s Award Impact and Engagement
Dr Graham Walker, ANU Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Innovation (Service and Solution)
Art and Design Education Committee, School of Art and Design
Team lead: Dr Geoffrey Hinchcliffe

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Public Policy and Outreach
Dr Adele Chynoweth, ANU School of Archaeology & Anthropology

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Reconciliation
The Balawan Elective Team, ANU School of Art and Design
Team lead: Dr Amanda Stuart

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research
Professor Susan O’Connor, ANU School of Culture History & Language

Clare Burton Award for Excellence in Equity & Diversity
Supporting Breastfeeding at ANU working group
Team leaders: Andrea Butler and Dr Katherine Carroll

For media assistance, contact Aaron Walker on the ANU media hotline on 02 6125 7979 or 0418 307 213.

About The Australian National University

ANU is a world-leading university in Australia’s capital city, Canberra. Our location points to our unique history, ties to the Australian Government and special standing as a resource for the Australian people.

Our focus on research as an asset, and an approach to education, ensures our graduates are in demand the world-over for their abilities to understand, and apply vision and creativity to addressing complex contemporary challenges.

The Australian National University
East Road, Acton
2601 Canberra