MEDIA ALERT: Australia to sign up to the European Southern Observatory

Monday, July 10, 2017 — Australia will sign an agreement with the European Southern Observatory (ESO) on Tuesday to give Australian astronomers access to ESO telescopes.

Senator The Honourable Arthur Sinodinos AO, Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science, will sign a Memorandum of Understanding between Australia and the ESO at 8.30am at the ANU Crawford School of Public Policy.

Media are invited to attend the signing.

On May 10 2017, ANU welcomed the announcement in the federal Budget that the Australian astronomy community will gain access to telescopes in Chile through a 10-year strategic partnership with the ESO.

The partnership will advance Australia’s scientific and industrial capabilities.

The Australian Government committed $26.1 million to enable Australia to enter an agreement with ESO from 2018 to maintain Australia's optical astronomical research that helps to advance humanity's understanding of the Universe.

The commitment also includes ongoing average funding of $12 million a year until 2027-28.


WHO: ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC, Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science Senator The Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO, Deputy Secretary, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science Ms Sue Weston, and Professor Pieter Timotheus de Zeeuw, Director General, European Southern Observatory.

WHAT: Australia to sign up to the European Southern Observatory

WHEN: Tuesday 11 July, 8.30am

WHERE: Molonglo Lecture Theatre, Crawford School of Public Policy


For media assistance, contact the ANU media hotline on 02 6125 7979 or email